Ongoing Kids Events at Grant Park

by Lynn Popham - Wednesday, May 06, 2015 at 6:00pm

Click the "more" link for further information on our story times and book clubs.

Categories: Ongoing Kids Events in Winnipeg

more...

Ratscalibur by Josh Lieb (from a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

by McNally Robinson - Monday, May 18, 2015 at 1:34pm

What would you do if you got turned into a rat? Joey, a soon-to-be seventh grade boy, moves out of the country and into the city with his mother. His Uncle Patrick comes to visit and brings with him a pet rat. That night, Joey hears a voice saying, "boy, boy, come here, boy." It isn't coming from his open window, but from the rat's cage. When the rat bites Joey, he is suddenly turned into a rat as well! Now a rodent, Joey goes off in search of someone that can change him back to his human form. But when Joey pulls a spork from a scone, he suddenly becomes one of the greatest heroes in rat history. Will Joey ever become human again, or will he decide to stay a rat forever? Follow Joey on his adventure through a rat's world. 

Ratscalibur is good for children ages eight to twelve. If you like fantasy and adventure novels, then this is a book for you! Fans of books like The Tale of Despereaux and The Rats of Nimh will be fascinated by this thrilling rodent adventure. I highly recommend this book. Enjoy!

- Maia, a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up Kids

Mac on the Road to Marseille by Christopher Ward (from a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

by McNally Robinson - Friday, May 15, 2015 at 9:53am

Last year, Mac's Uncle Rudee proposed to the love of his life, Sashay.  This year, Mac comes to Paris to attend the wedding but soon gets caught up competing in a taxi derby with Rudee's friends and a mystery involving a stolen painting. The worst part is Mac has no help. Rudee can't help Mac because he's on his honeymoon with Sashay and Mac's parents are too busy exploring Paris to care. Will Mac be able to figure out who stole the famous painting? Find out in Mac on the Road to Marseille.

I like this book because you often hear or learn a lot about Paris but not the smaller villages and cities around it. This book takes place in some of these areas so you learn about them. I would recommend this book book to people who like adventure books. All in all, this was a great book.

- K.H., a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up Kids

A Saskatoon Pirate Party!

by Allison Currie - Wednesday, May 13, 2015 at 10:10pm

AAAAAARRRRRRR Matey!

Sunday, June 14th at 10:00am, Prairie Ink welcomes any and all aspiring buccaneers to join us for breakfast. Big or small, short or tall, you are free to pillage our kitchen and loot our bakery! We provide the grog, Swashbuckling Bacon and Buccaneer Blueberry pancakes.

Dress up in your most piratical outfit, practice your pirate lingo, and enjoy a buffet too tasty for any landlubber!

Featuring shark-infested waters, plank walking, and the Pirate Tales of the Notorious Black Max!

$15 per person (excluding tax gratuity) by reservation only at the Prairie Ink Restaurant. No need to make a reservation for your parrot. Also, don't bring your parrot.

Categories: Saskatoon, Ongoing Kids Events in Saskatoon, Prairie Ink

Star Wars Epic Yarns

by Shanleigh K - Friday, May 08, 2015 at 3:50pm

Jedi apprentices and little princesses will delight in this (heart) felt retelling of the Star Wars saga. And so will Star Wars fans of any age! The series by Jack and Holman Wang launches with the original trilogy, and every word counts in these small but perfectly formed yarns. That's because each volume features 12 iconic scenes, handcrafted in felt and pithily summarized in just a single word. The attention to detail is eye-opening; the proportions are just-right for small hands; the fun is guaranteed.

In A New Hope, Princess Leia sends a hologram message through R2-D2, Luke Skywalker learns how to use a lightsaber, and our heroes triumph.

In The Empire Strikes Back, Luke meets his teacher Yoda, Han Solo makes a friend, and there is a lightsaber duel with a Sith Lord in the dark.

Return of the Jedi features an encounter with the monster Jabba, while C-3PO conducts storytime before their adventures go to a happy ending.


Excerpt from the May/June issue of The Bookseller, out now.

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Newsletter
  - 1 ...  2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 111 -   Earlier >

Location & Hours

Contact Us 1.800.561.1833

Saskatoon 1.877.506.7456

Account Log In

Useful Info