Latest News

Interview with Stephen Fearing & Andy White

by D - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 1:29pm

Our music manager Michael Wolch is part of the Sounds & Words segment on CityTv's BTV. This morning Michael and Jenna Khan interview Stephen Fearing & Andy White who were in town playing a gig at the West End Cultural Centre and promoting their new CD: Fearing & White.. To see the interview click here.

Categories: Winnipeg

Local Manitoba Author's on our Bestseller list this week.

by D - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 2:51pm

We are very proud to have local these Manitoba authors on our bestseller list this week.

Hardcover Non-Fiction
3.Henry Kalen's Manitoba, Henry Kalen.

Paperback Fiction
1. Curiosity, Joan Thomas.

Paperback Non-Fiction
1. Keep True: A Life in Politics, Howard Pawley.
2. Create Space for Peace: 40 Years of Peacemaking, Gene Stoltzfus, 1940-2010. Dorothy Friesen, ed.
3. Grammar Matters, Jila Ghomeshi.

Books for Young People
2. Gus the Wrong-Way Goose, Coral Hetherington.

Categories: Awards, Winnipeg


Buffalo Springfield Announce First Tour in 43 Years

by Michael Wolch - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 11:18am

After months of rumours, Buffalo Springfield have announced dates for their first tour since splitting up in 1968. The group, featuring original members Neil Young, Stephen Stills and Richie Furay, are going to play a six-date California tour in early June, leading up to their set at Bonnaroo on June 11th. Click here for more info on the Buffalo Springfield reunion tour.

Categories: Reviews, Site News, Saskatoon, Winnipeg


The Donner Prize Shortlist

by D - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 3:45pm

The Donner Prize recognizes and reward the best public policy thinking, writing and research in Canada. The winner of the Donner Prize receives $35,000; finalists receive $5,000 each.

The shortlist is:
Pamela Blais for Perverse Cities: Hidden Subsidies, Wonky Policy, and Urban Sprawl.
Tom Flanagan, Christopher Alcantara and André Le Dressay for Beyond the Indian Act: Restoring Aboriginal Property Rights.
Robert Lacroix and Louis Maheu for Le CHUM, une tragédie québécoise.
Doug Saunders for Arrival City: The Final Migration and Our Next World.
Harry Swain for Oka: A Political Crisis and its Legacy.

Shaun Tan awarded the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

by D - Tuesday, Mar 29, 2011 at 10:04am

Shaun Tan, Australian author and illustrator of the picture book The Arrival is winner of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. The annual honour awards five million kroner (about $766,000 Cdn) to a writer, illustrator or storyteller for his or her outstanding contribution to children's or young adult literature.

Categories: Awards
< Newer  - 1 ...  245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 ... 441 -   Earlier >

Location & Hours

Contact Us 1.800.561.1833

Saskatoon 1.877.506.7456

Account Log In