2010 Governor General's Literary Awards Finalists

by D - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 10:01am

The Governor General's Literary Awards are given annually to the best English-language and the best French-language books. Each laureate receives $25,000 and a specially crafted copy of the winning book. The 2010 the English fiction and non-fiction shortlist is below. The winner's will be announced mid-November.

Kathleen Winter, Annabel
Emma Donoghue, Room
Sandra Birdsell, Waiting for Joe.
Drew Hayden Taylor, Motorcycles & Sweetgrass.
Dianne Warren, Cool Water.

Ian Brown, The Boy in the Moon, A father's search for his disabled son.
Elizabeth Abbott, A History of Marriage.
Allan Casey, Lakeland: Journeys into the Soul of Canada.
Karen Connelly, Burmese Lessons: A Love Story.
John English, Just Watch Me: The Life of Pierre Elliott Trudeau, 1968-2000.

Categories: Awards, Publishing News

Who do you want to win The Giller?

by D - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 9:44am

$29.99 Add to Cart

The Globe and Mail are running a poll to see what author people want to win The Scotiabank Giller Prize. To cast your vote, click here.
The choices are,
Alexander MacLeod, Light Lifting
David Bergen, The Matter With Morris
Johanna Skibsrud, The Sentimentalists
Kathleen Winter, Annabel
Sarah Selecky, This Cake Is For the Party

Categories: Awards, Authors, Fun

Winnipeg Events this week

by D - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 10:56am

This week is especially good at the Winnipeg, Grant Park, McNally Robinson.

Café Scientifique, presents The New Wonder Vitamin: D. Monday Oct 25, 7:00.
Uma Parameswaran -- Launching A Cycle of the Moon, Monday Oct 25, 8:00.
Kim Brooks -- Launching Justice Bertha Wilson: One Woman's Difference, Tuesday Oct 26, 7:00.
David Annandale -- Launching The Valedictorians, Tuesday Oct 26, 8:00.
Gail Bowen -- Reading & Signing The Nesting Dolls, Wednesday Oct 27, 8:00.
Dr. Jonathan Ellerby -- Speaking & Signing Inspiration Deficit Disorder, Thursday Oct 28, 7:00.
GMB Chomichuk, John Toone and James Rewucki -- Launching The Imagination Manifesto: Book Two, Thursday Oct 28, 7:30.
Murray Burt -- Launching Winnipeg's Ladies from Hell, Thursday Oct 28, 8:00.

Categories: Store News, Winnipeg

Breakfast TV Book Club reads Melissa Steele's, Beautiful Girl Thumb

by D - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 9:57am

The October selection in the McNally Robinson / Breakfast TV Book Club is Melissa Steele's Beautiful Girl Thumb.

Melissa Steele's characters are looking for love, but they are willing to settle. They don't dare feel flat-out greed or lust or hate. Instead they wander around, repeating the mantra 'everything is okay.' It isn't.

These brutally funny stories provide valuable advice on destroying friendships, flirting with your marriage counselor, cheating at Diplomacy, dumping your boyfriend via Call Waiting, and enrolling your children in the right elementary school program.

Categories: Book Clubs, Winnipeg


An Evening of Food & Spirits in Saskatoon

by Nicole Berard - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 5:38pm

Join Prairie Ink Restaurant, Cava Wines & Spirits and Pine View Farms for a fantastic evening of food and wine.

Come in for a champagne toast and a dinner of five fabulous courses paired with wine and spirits from around the world.

For further information or to buy tickets please call Prairie Ink Restaurant: 955-3579

Categories: Saskatoon


< Newer  - 1 ...  244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 ... 418 -   Earlier >

Location & Hours

Contact Us 1.800.561.1833

Saskatoon 1.877.506.7456

Account Log In

Useful Info