Account Login Canada Toll-Free: 1.800.561.1833 SK Toll-Free: 1.877.506.7456 Contact & Locations

Sort by

Author of the Month

Born in Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Sharon Butala is a bestselling author of both fiction and nonfiction. A personal and spiritual exploration of the roots of creativity, her classic book The Perfection of the Morning (1994) was a finalist for the Governor General’s Award. Her latest novel, Wild Rose, was published in 2015 and has been shortlisted for the W.O. Mitchell Book Prize. Butala is a recipient of the Marian Engel Award, the Saskatchewan Order of Merit, and the 2012 Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for Literary Excellence.

In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, Butala's new book, Where I Live Now, is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime. When her husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss. (Hardcover. $26.99. Simon & Schuster. April)

Winnipeg EVENT APRIL 11


The Girl In Saskatoon

- Trade paperback

by Sharon Butala - $18.95 - Add to Cart

In 1961, Alexandra Wiwcharuk was found murdered on the banks of the Saskatchewan River. As Sharon Butala writes, all of Saskatoon "came to a stop," stunned by the brutal death of an attractive young woman who was a graduate nurse and had been crowned a beauty queen in local pageants. The murder became a touchstone moment for Saskatoon. More than 40 years later, it still haunts the residents, especially those who, like Butala, were Alexandra's friends. Compelled by her memories of Alex and her time, Butala returns to that still-unsolved murder. In The Girl in Saskatoon--a title taken from a song that Johnny Cash sang to Alex at a concert only months before her death--she faces the horror of those past events to create a portrait of friendship and remembrance, of a time when life appeared so much simpler. Written in Butala's intimate, eloquent style, The Girl in Saskatoon is at once an in-depth investigation of a tragic death, a nostalgic coming-of-age story and an exploration of the nature of good and evil.

Old Man on His Back

- Trade paperback

by Sharon Butala - $24.95 - Add to Cart

Portrait of a Prairie Landscape

Perfection of the Morning

- Trade paperback

by Sharon Butala - $18.95 - Add to Cart

When it was first published a decade ago, The Perfection of the Morning catapulted Sharon Butala into literary stardom, causing the Toronto Star to crown her as "one of this country's true visionaries."At once a meditation on the world of nature and a personal and spiritual exploration of the roots of creativity, The Perfection of the Morning is Sharon Butala's search for a connection with the prairie that encompassed and often overwhelmed her.More resonant today than ever before, The Perfection of the Morning is a book for Butala's many loyal readers, as well as the perfect introduction for new fans, presented in a a beautiful gift edition with a new preface and elegant cover flaps.SHARON BUTALA is an award-winning and bestselling author of both fiction and non-fiction. Her towering achievements include Fever, a short story collection that won the 1992 Authors Award for Paperback Fiction, and The Garden of Eden, published the same year she received the Marian Engel Award. Her non-fiction bestsellers include Wild Stone Heart, Old Man on His Back and Coyote's Morning Cry.  A recipient of the Order of Canada, she lives near Eastend, Saskatchewan.

Where I Live Now

- Hardcover

by Sharon Butala - $26.99 - Add to Cart

An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss."It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life. And, of course, one day it ended." --Sharon Butala In the tradition of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking, Diana Athill's Somewhere Towards the End, and Atul Gawande's Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from one of our beloved writers. When Sharon Butala's husband, Peter, died unexpectedly, she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief and loss, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving almost everything behind. A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books, clothes, and keepsakes. But a lifetime of experience went with her, and a limitless well of memory--of personal failures, of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, of the unbreakable bonds of family. Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her new life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this hard-won new existence comes an astonishingly frank, compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss. Often called one of this country's true visionaries, Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going. Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

Wild Rose

- Trade paperback

by Sharon Butala - $21.95 - Add to Cart

Wild Rose, an epic story of The West, now long gone, charts Sophie's journey from underloved child in religion-bound rural Quebec, to headstrong young woman to exhausted homesteader to deserted bride and mother to independent businesswoman finding her way in a hostile, if beautiful, landscape. In language that is haunting, elegiac and rich with detail, Butala casts an unblinking eye on a merciless West that has become obscured behind headlines about wheat and oil prices. Sophie's West - filled with sodbusters and cowboys, fallen women and proper ladies, settlers and Indians - comes vividly alive in the pages of Wild Rose, Butala's most unforgettable novel.