Account Login Canada Toll-Free: 1.800.561.1833 SK Toll-Free: 1.877.506.7456 Contact & Locations

The Last Gargoyle by Paul Durham (from a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

by McNally Robinson - Thursday, Dec 28, 2017 at 1:55pm

I found that this book ended unexpectedly. The main character, Penhollow, did not resolve anything he set out to do - kill the Boneless King. Penhollow is the last of his kind in Boston. He is called a Grotesque but when in disguise he looks like a boy. Penhollow was created by a Bone Mason and is able to turn a Gargoyle into a wisp. As every Grotesque, he can communicate to the Dead. The Dead, called Netherkin, and their leader The Boneless King are killing Grotesques and Bone Mason's in the revenge for the Great War and Penhollow is fighting back! As soon as Penhollow learns about the leader of the Dead, he is trying to kill him by sneaking into his hideout. But unless he The King is really hurt, he just ends up getting stronger. In the end, it's all too confusing…

- Alex, a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

The Last Gargoyle will be available January 9.

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up Kids

More articles from kids

See:

The Last Gargoyle

- Children's hardcover

by Paul Durham - $22.99 - Add to Cart

Fans of Jonathan Auxier's The Night Gardener and Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book will tremble with delight for this haunting tale about a lonely gargoyle who isn't alone at all.Penhallow is the last of his kind. The stone gargoyle--he'd prefer you call him a grotesque--fearlessly protects his Boston building from the spirits who haunt the night. But even he is outmatched when Hetty, his newest ward, nearly falls victim to the Boneless King, the ruler of the underworld.Then there's Viola, the mysterious girl who keeps turning up at the most unlikely times. In a world where nightmares come to life, Viola could be just the ally Penhallow needs. But can he trust her when every shadow hides another secret? Can he afford not to?