Account Login Canada Toll-Free: 1.800.561.1833 SK Toll-Free: 1.877.506.7456 Contact & Locations

Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things by Simon Van Booy (from a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

by McNally Robinson - Monday, Nov 20, 2017 at 6:27pm

Gertie Milk is Keeper of Lost Things. She discovers that when she washes up on the shore of the island Skuldark with no memory. She learns how to be a Keeper of Lost things from Kolt, the Keeper that was already on Skuldark when she arrived. Gertie discovers that all lost things come to Skuldark, and it is the Keepers job to return them when the B.D.B.U (a giant book) tells them to. But the Losers who hate all knowledge, try to stop them. And when the B.D.B.U goes missing Gertie and Kolt have to go find it. Will they find the B.D.B.U? Find out in Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things!!

I liked this book because it had lots of cool things in it like the time machine. But, I think it’s kind of sad that Gertie lost her memory and she can’t see her parents again. One thing I didn’t like about this book was that the end was sort of a cliffhanger. I rate this book a 7.5 on a scale from 1 to 10.

- Jiyoo, a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up Kids

More articles from kids

See:

Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things

- Children's hardcover

by Simon Van Booy - $22.99 - Add to Cart

Award-winning author Simon Van Booy introduces readers to a magical, whimsical world, perfect for fans of Circus Mirandus and Serafina and the Black Cloak.When twelve-year-old Gertie Milk washes up on the island of Skuldark, she finds that all of her memories are gone. Home to helpful Slug Lamps, delicious moonberries, and a ferocious Guard Worm, the island is full of oddities, including a cozy cottage containing artifacts from every corner of history.   It is there that Gertie discovers she has been chosen as the next Keeper of Lost Things, tasked with the mission of returning objects to history's most important figures right when they need them most. With the help of a time machine disguised as a vintage sports car and the guidance of her fellow Keeper, Kolt, Gertie dodges an elephant army in ancient Alexandria, crashes a 1920s flapper party, and battles a ruthless Zhou Dynasty king.   But soon, Gertie encounters an enemy that threatens everything the Keepers stand for: The Losers, villains who don't want to keep order but destroy it. Now, Gertie must uncover the truth of her own past if she wants to stop the Losers and set history back in place.