Account Login Canada Toll-Free: 1.800.561.1833 SK Toll-Free: 1.877.506.7456 Contact & Locations

The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City by Jodi Kendall (from a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

by McNally Robinson - Saturday, Oct 14, 2017 at 11:12am

The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City is about a girl names Josie and a piglet named Hamet (who lives in the city). But since it's against the law to have a pig in the city, the Shilling's must find a home for Hamlet on a farm outside the city. Unfortunately, none of the farmers want to keep a pig as a pet. Then one day the police call Josie and tell her a guy named Reggie Grimson would like to keep Hamlet as a pet for his kid, but when Josie and her friend Sully search him up online, they find out that Reggie is a hog farmer! So now it's up to Josie to protect Hamlet from being killed for meat! If you're a fan of Charlotte's Web, then this is your #1 must read!

- Stella, a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up Kids

More articles from kids

See:

The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City

- Children's hardcover

by Jodi Kendall - $21.00 - Add to Cart

This delightful middle grade novel is a modern-day homage to Charlotte's Web, perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Cammie McGovern."We fell in love with The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City! No matter how big she gets, there's always room for Hamlet in our hearts." --Steve Jenkins and Derek Walter, New York Times bestselling co-authors of Esther the Wonder PigA little pig in a big city leads to lots of trouble! Josie Shilling's family is too big, their cramped city house is too small, and she feels like no one's ever on her side. Then, on Thanksgiving Day, her older brother, Tom, brings home a pink, squirmy bundle wrapped in an old football jersey--a piglet he rescued from a nearby farm. Her name is Hamlet. The minute Josie holds Hamlet, she feels an instant connection. But there's no room for Hamlet in the crowded Shilling household. And whoever heard of keeping a pig in the city? So it's up to Josie to find her a forever home.   The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City is a heartwarming tale of family, belonging, and growing bigger when you've always felt small.