Account Login Canada Toll-Free: 1.800.561.1833 SK Toll-Free: 1.877.506.7456 Contact & Locations

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley (from a Two Thumbs Up reviewer)

by McNally Robinson - Thursday, May 18, 2017 at 2:39pm

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came. Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

Words in Deep Blue was an enticing read and one I really enjoyed. The overall story line is easy to follow and the plot is engaging, but it's the sentiment and meaning behind it that did it for me. The topic of books and words and the passion the characters feel for them is amazing. It made my bookish heart melt. This is a great introduction to Cath Crowley's writing style, and I am absolutely enamoured.

This book is beautiful and it will make the reader feel so content once you've finished. It is intriguing despite not being overly complicated or complex. It's perfect for a slump read and yet, it will make you cry tears of joy and a little of sadness. It's simple and straightforward.

Overall, the characters really resonated with me as a reader, and the plot was quite engrossing. I recommend this book to anyone who has read previous books by Crowley, or for new readers looking to read her works. I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.

- Sabrina, a Two Thumbs Up reviewer

Words in Deep Blue will be available June 6.

Categories: Saskatoon, Winnipeg, Two Thumbs Up

More articles from teens

See:

Words in Deep Blue

- Young adult hardcover

by Cath Crowley - $23.99 - Add to Cart

"One of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I've read in a very long time. . . . I didn't just read the pages, I lived in them." --Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places   A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon: two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope--and letters hidden between the pages.   Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family's bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.   Now Rachel has returned to the city--and to the bookshop--to work alongside the boy she'd rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can't feel anything anymore.   As Henry and Rachel work side by side--surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages--they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it's possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.