Account Login Canada Toll-Free: 1.800.561.1833 SK Toll-Free: 1.877.506.7456 Contact & Locations

Manitoba Book Awards 2016 winners

by Tyler Vitt - Tuesday, May 03, 2016 at 1:26pm

The winners of this year's Manitoba Book Awards were announced at a gala this Saturday, April 30th.

2015 and 2016 saw plenty of wonderful new Manitoba literature, and competition was fierce for this year's awards. Congratulations to all of the recipients, as well as those who made it onto the shortlist.

Of particular note are the recipients of the 2016 McNally Robinson Book Awards. Writer Julia Schettler and illustrator Sarah Neville won the McNally Robinson Books for Young People Award in the "younger" category for their book Fur Is Only Fur Deep, and in the "older" category the award went to Jodi Carmichael for her novel, Forever Julia. Meanwhile, the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award went to Wab Kinew for his memoir, The Reason You Walk.

The full list of winners can be found below, after the jump.


Lansdowne Prize for Poetry

Niche by Basma Kavanagh, published by Frontenac House Poetry


The Manuela Dias Book Design and Illustration Awards

Design Category: The Land We Are: Artists & Writers Unsettle the Politics of Reconciliation, edited by Gabrielle L’Hirondelle-Hill and Sophie McCall, cover design by Sébastien Aubin, interior design by Relish New Brand Experience, published by ARP Books

General Illustration Category: Warehouse Journal Volume 24, edited and cover design by Amanda Austin and Ainsley Johnston, published by University of Manitoba Faculty of Architecture

Children’s Illustration Category: Alexia Wants to Fly by Talia Pura, illustrated by Wai Tien, published by Lily Star Press


Mary Scorer Award for Best Book by a Manitoba Publisher

Life Among the Qallunaat by Mini Aodla Freeman, edited and with an afterword by Keavy Martin and Julie Rak, with Norma Dunning, cover design by Mike Carroll, interior design by Jess Koroscil, published by University of Manitoba Press


Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction

Nightwatching by Méira Cook, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.


Alexander Kennedy Isbister Award for Non-Fiction

Letters to Brian: A Year of Living and Remembrance by Martha Brooks, published by Turnstone Press


Award for Lifetime Achievement

Morley Walker


Beatrice Mosionier Award for Aboriginal Writer of the Year Award

Second place recipients: Roland Vandal & David Alexander Robertson

First place recipient: Chantal Fiola


Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award

Winnipeg Cooks: Signature Recipes from the City’s Top Chefs by Robin Summerfield, published by Figure 1 Publishing


Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book

Street Sex Work and Canadian Cities: Resisting a Dangerous Order by Shawna Ferris, published by the University of Alberta Press


Michael Van Rooy Award for Genre Fiction

Put on the Armour of Light by Catherine Macdonald, published by Dundurn


John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer

Chantal Fiola


McNally Robinson Books for Young People Awards (younger)

Fur Is Only Fur Deep by Julia Schettler, illustrated by Sarah Neville, published by Peasantry Press


McNally Robinson Books for Young People Awards (older)

Forever Julia by Jodi Carmichael, published by Great Plains Teen Fiction, an imprint of Great Plains Publications


McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award

The Reason You Walk by Wab Kinew, published by Viking, an imprint of Penguin Canada Books Inc.

Categories: Awards, Winnipeg, Ongoing Kids Events in Winnipeg, Prairie Writing, Regional Interest

More articles from home, kids, teens