Account Login Canada Toll-Free: 1.800.561.1833 SK Toll-Free: 1.877.506.7456 Contact & Locations

2016 MYRCA Winners

by Shanleigh K - Monday, Apr 25, 2016 at 2:50pm

The winners of the 2016 Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Awards (MYRCA) have offically been unveiled!

Congratulations to Kenneth Oppel for his 2016 MYRCA winner, The Boundless!

Further congratulations to this year's Honour winners:
The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier
In Real Life by Cory Doctorow and Jen Wang

Stay tuned for the 2017 MYRCA list, to be announced soon. For information about the upcoming award ceremony, please visit the MYRCA website at MYRCA.ca

Categories: Awards, Winnipeg, Ongoing Kids Events in Winnipeg

More articles from kids, teens

See:

The Boundless

- Children's paperback

by Kenneth Oppel - $12.99 - Add to Cart

Will Everett has always wished for an adventure. Little does he know that his adventure starts the moment he boards the Boundless. There is a murder, and now Will must protect a key that can unlock the train's hidden treasures. Villians are fast on his heels and strange creatures are lurking outside the windows as the Boundless hurtles across the country. Together with Maren, a gifted escape artist, and Mr. Dorian, a circus ringmaster with amazing abilities, Will must save the Boundless before someone else winds up dead.His adventure may have begun without him knowing . . . but how it ends is up to Will.

The Night Gardener

- Children's paperback

by Jonathan Auxier - $12.99 - Add to Cart

When orphaned Irish siblings Molly and Kip arrive to work as servants at a creepy, crumbling English manor house, they discover that the house and its inhabitants are not what they seem. Soon the siblings are confronted by a mysterious stranger and the secrets of the cursed house will change their lives forever. This much-anticipated follow up to Jonathan Auxier’s exceptional debut, Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes, is a Victorian mystery in the tradition of Washington Irving and Edgar Allan Poe. The Night Gardener is a mesmerizing read and a classic in the making.

In Real Life

- Young adult softcover

by Cory Doctorow - $19.99 - Add to Cart

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Anda loves Coarsegold Online, the massively-multiplayer role playing game that she spends most of her free time on. It's a place where she can be a leader, a fighter, a hero. It's a place where she can meet people from all over the world, and make friends. Gaming is, for Anda, entirely a good thing. But things become a lot more complicated when Anda befriends a gold farmer - a poor Chinese kid whose avatar in the game illegally collects valuable objects and then sells them to players from developed countries with money to burn. This behavior is strictly against the rules in Coarsegold, but Anda soon comes to realize that questions of right and wrong are a lot less straightforward when a real person's real livelihood is at stake. From acclaimed teen author Cory Doctorow and rising star cartoonist Jen Wang, In Real Life is a sensitive, thoughtful look at adolescence, gaming, poverty, and culture-clash.