Sort by

MYRCA 2015 Nominees

The Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award Inc. (MYRCA) aims to promote reading and Canadian literature by giving young people the opportunity to vote for their favourite Canadian book from an annual preselected list. The books are nominated based on their quality and reader appeal. All young people in grades 5-8 who have read or heard read at least 5 titles from the list can vote. Voting takes place in April and the MYRCA winner is celebrated at a fall award ceremony attended by participating young people.
For more information, visit their website www.myrca.ca or email them at myrca@myrca.ca
Follow on Twitter @MyrcAward.ca or like them on Facebook here. .

This year's winner will be announced in May 2015.

The winner of the 2014 MYRCA is Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch for Making Bombs for Hitler.

Runners up are
Ungifted by Gordon Korman
Small Medium at Large by Joanne Levy


Check out the current nominees for the 2015 MYRCA below.


Page: 1 2 >>

The Metro Dogs of Moscow

- Children's paperback

by Rachelle Delaney - $12.99 - Add to Cart

JR (short for Jack Russell) is an embassy dog. His human, George, works in embassies around the world and so they both travel. A lot. Now George is working at the Canadian Embassy in M...

The Cats of Tanglewood Forest

- Children's hardcover

by Charles De Lint - $19.99 - Add to Cart

In this whimsical, original folktale, written and illustrated throughout in vibrant full color by two celebrated masters of modern fantasy, a young girl's journey becomes an enchanting co...

The Hidden Agenda of Sigrid Sugden

- Children's paperback

by Jill MacLean - $11.95 - Add to Cart

A new novel in the award-winning Travis Keating/Prinny Murphy series. Sigrid Sugden is a Shrike, a member of one of the toughest group of girls in school. They are experts at blackmai...

Home Ice Advantage

- Young adult softcover

by Tom Earle - $14.99 - Add to Cart

An abused boy finds safety, friendship and a missing legend inside a historic hockey arenaI looked at the newspaper and gasped. There, staring back at me, was my own picture. It was this ...

Loki's Wolves

- Children's paperback

by K.l. Armstrong - $9.00 - Add to Cart

"The runes have spoken. We have our champion...Matthew Thorsen." Matt hears the words, but he can't believe them. He's Thor's representative? Destined to fight trolls, monstrous wolves...

Morven and the Horse Clan

- Young adult softcover

by Luanne Armstrong - $14.95 - Add to Cart

In 3500 BC, a killing drought forces Morven and her tribe to roam the steppes of Kazakhstan, struggling to survive. Fiercely independent and never quite feeling she belongs, Morven feels ...

The Oathbreaker's Shadow

- Young adult softcover

by Amy Mcculloch - $14.95 - Add to Cart

Fans of Philip Pullman, Jonathan Stroud, and George R.R. Martin are going to love this action-filled fantasy novel by an exciting and extremely promotable debut voice in the genre.      I...

The Phantom's Gold

- Children's paperback

by Eric Murphy - $12.95 - Add to Cart

Thirteen-year-old William McCoy's life changed forever a year ago when his father died. Now, his mother is moving on...but William still wants to hold on to the past. He sneaks out one ni...

Prince Puggly of Spud and the Kingdom of Spiff

- Children's paperback

by Robert Paul Weston - $9.99 - Add to Cart

 Prince Puggly of the muddy, terminally unfashionable Kingdom of Spud is surprised when he receives an invitation to a lavish ball in the far more chic Kingdom of Spiff. Puggly is sure th...

Red River Stallion

- Children's hardcover

by Troon Harrison - $18.00 - Add to Cart

There's nothing stranger than the sight of a new creature in your land. It can seem almost magical. When a young orphan named Amelia first spots a red stallion, she is convinced he is her...

Running Scared

- Children's paperback

by Bev Terrell-deutsch - $11.95 - Add to Cart

Shortlisted for The Manitoba Young Readers' Choice Award, 2015Gregory loves numbers -- they don't change and he can count on them, literally.Numbers also keep Gregory's mind off his fathe...

Sabotage

- Children's paperback

by Karen Autio - $10.95 - Add to Cart

Ever since 13-year-old Saara returned from caring for her family's relatives, she's been so grown-up and focused on her goal of becoming a teacher. Nine-year-old John jokes and plays pran...

Scare Scape

- Children's hardcover

by Sam Fisher - $18.99 - Add to Cart

Three wishes go awry in a middle-grade debut as comical as it is spooky. Toxic Vapor Worms. Shark Hounds. King-Crab Spiders. Two-Headed Mutant Rodents. These are just a few of the beasts...

The Spotted Dog Last Seen

- Children's paperback

by Jessica Scott Kerrin - $8.95 - Add to Cart

While tracking clues from a secret code penciled in the margins of mystery novels at a public library, Derek Knowles-Collier discovers a time capsule, an unpublished author and a gravesto...

Ultra

- Children's paperback

by David Carroll - $7.99 - Add to Cart

A young ultra-marathon runner is pushed to the breaking point and beyond in this gripping tale of physical endurance and emotional healing. Quinn has been called a superhero and a freak ...

Page: 1 2 >>

Location & Hours

Contact Us 1.800.561.1833

Saskatoon 1.877.506.7456

Account Log In

Useful Info