Account Login Canada Toll-Free: 1.800.561.1833 SK Toll-Free: 1.877.506.7456 Contact & Locations

pubdate: 06/17
turn:
pub date: 1497675600
today: 1498453200, pubdate > today = false

nyp: 0;

Now I Rise

About this Item

ISBN: 9780553522358
format: Young adult hardcover
series: And I Darken
pages: 480
publisher: Random House Children's Books
pub. date: 2017-06-27

$12.99

Checking Availibility...

Price:
$24.99
Quantity:

Description

The highly anticipated, mind-blowing sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times bestseller, AND I DARKEN--the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's THE RED QUEEN and Sabaa Tahir's A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel--the second in the And I Darken series.
 
Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.
 
What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu's subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople--and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines Radu longs for his sister's fierce confidence--but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself--but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?
 
As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: what will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won . . . and souls will be lost.


"Gorgeous, rich, and rewarding."--Booklist, starred review

? "Absolutely devastating in the best way."--Kirkus, starred review


Praise for And I Darken
 
"A dark jewel of a story, one that gleams with fierce, cunning characters--absolutely riveting." --Alexandra Bracken, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Passenger
 
"A dark, gritty, and seriously badass epic that will have you dying for more . . . required reading for every feminist fantasy fan." --BuzzFeed
 
"Evocative . . . this book takes no prisoners." --NPR

If you are coming into one of our stores, we suggest that you confirm that the book you want is in stock by emailing the location nearest you: Grant Park, Saskatoon, or by phoning the location nearest you.